Oral-Gut Conference 2

Dear colleagues, 

It is with great enthusiasm that I extend to you an invitation to attend at the upcoming “Oral-Gut Conference 2: Expanding the Horizons of GI tract Immunology and Microbiology”. Building on the success of our 2020 symposium in Santiago, Chile, we are excited to present a second, more expansive edition at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden, slated for June 11th-12th, 2024. 

This conference, co-organized with Juliana Barreto de Albuquerque (Harvard Medical School), Claudia Rivera (NIH), and Eduardo Villablanca (Karolinska Institute), is sponsored by the Karolinska Institute and the Society for Mucosal Immunology (SMI). Our vision is to foster a comprehensive dialogue spanning the broad spectrum of immunology and microbiology research within the mucosal surfaces of the gastrointestinal tract and its related organs. The conference’s main topics include intestinal and oral mucosal immunity, the interplay between oral and intestinal health, and the systemic implications of intestinal perturbations. We anticipate that the gathering will not only disseminate cutting-edge knowledge but also foster sustained collaboration among attendees. 

We are privileged to confirm as Keynote Speakers: Dr. Yasmine Belkaid (NIH/NIAID – President of the Institut Pasteur), Dr. Oliver Pabst (RWTH Aachen – Chair of Molecular Medicine), and Dr. Niki Moutsopoulos (NIH/NIDCR).

We welcome your abstracts for submission. The deadline for submission is March 15th, 2024. For further details on the conference and the submission process, please visit www.oralgut.com

We are offering full travel grants for PhD students from under-represented countries (see eligible countries here)!

We look forward to your participation and contribution to a fruitful and enlightening conference.

With warm regards, 

Gustavo Monasterio 

Cancerfonden Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Medicine, Solna, Karolinska Institute. 

Claudia Rivera 

Damon Runyon Postdoctoral Fellow, NIAID, National Institutes of Health. 

Juliana Barreto de Albuquerque 

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School. 

Eduardo Villablanca 

Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Solna, Karolinska Institute.